The consequences of being a bad cutter..and new sounds.

I am not great with a rotary blade or a pair of scissors and normally when I start a new project I just dive straight in, I am bad a measuring twice especially when I’m using an easy square with a quarter-inch added. I cut crooked even when using a massive quilting ruler.

So I have spent the last few months making a baby quilt for little Baby Mouse child of Book Mouse.  I had used the pattern from the book Liberty Love. The quilts in there are pretty straight forward  http://www.bookdepository.com/Liberty-Love-Alexia-Marcelie-Abegg/9781607056263.  As I had already done a postage stamp block before with ease I was confident.

So I had used pink fabrics from my stash and bought a small Aneela Hoey hello petal fabric charm  pack from the Sewing shop in Canterbury to give me a better range across the whole piece. I’ll be honest when I did cut the squares and started to sew them together I did think “Crap this is a bit close to the edge..” But I’m not going to waste this fabric as you see before this problem even occurred I had read the pattern wrong (I do this a lot too) and over cut by something like 60 odd squares! So bad juju already.

wpid-2014-06-21-23.41.21.jpg.jpeg

 

But it will be alright in the end wont it? So I had sewn all the blocks together and they all looked ok. I had bought a couple of meters of a wee wander by Sarah Jane (Michael Miller) http://sarahjanestudios.com/blog/2013/11/introducing-wee-wander/

I put it all together and Voila it looked amazing I was very pleased with the whole thing. The seam allowance issues were a distance memory and I was going to finish in good time.

wpid-20140417_115240.jpg

Until the freaking machine decided to break when I knocked the needle knob from position one to position two making it smash straight into the walking foot and the whole thing sounded just horrible. So I waited.

I checked the machine again because you know sods law I’d take it and it would magically work..nope still broken. I took it back to the ladies at the sewing shop for a check and left it for a week. Phone call a week later lo and behold there is nothing wrong with it! I was so embarrassed.

I quilted the whole thing, it wasn’t a complicated design by any means. I do straight lines ,I am trying to do free motion but always chicken out and go back to old school. All done, all beautiful so I popped it in the washing machine 2 days before I was seeing Baby mouse it was all good.

As the whole point of this blog is to show that not everyone makes beautiful perfect things I’m going to share in the disaster and how I fixed it.

Hung it out on the line, freaking disaster!!! All of the seams in the blocks had come undone. Complete panic lots of colourful language, I didn’t have time to unpick the whole quilt as I was working the next day and wouldn’t have the time, I had to be creative.

wpid-20140605_141004.jpg

wpid-20140606_081147.jpg

So slowly with a kids knitting needle I had to turn all of the frayed stuff in and top stitch all the rows back into place. This was going ok, it just meant having to top stitch every single row of every block so it would look like that was the design I was going for.

I got to the last block and it was a complete mess, I though this is close to the edge I’ll just undo my binding, unpick the bit of quilting and repair by turning it inside out. This was my undoing and what sent me over the cliff. Once I unpicked it I couldn’t turn them inside out to stick it through the machine. Unless I unpicked a load more of it.

wpid-20140606_084218.jpg

So I had to top stitch it all again. At this point it was the morning and I was all tizz. It was almost all done but re-doing the binding was giving me complete grief (I hate binding, I always buy it pre made and I hate putting it on, I really need to take a class on it) . Thankfully the brilliant Mrs MLP came to my rescue fixed my binding and any other bits all in time to see the lovely little baby mouse!

Sorry about the lack of pic’s we were running late and almost forgot to take any! All the close up ones turned out blurred.

 

wpid-20140606_120229.jpg

wpid-20140606_120303.jpg

 

A bit quilted out after that! So I had a break for a bit. I have a massive backing for another quilt that needs piecing which I’m dreading to put together, I think because I’ve been on that project for almost a year now and I’m a bit bored with it. Anyway details for another day on that.

Also after being on twitter for about a week I was awfully excited as I got a retweet from Katy Jones.

wpid-screenshot_2014-06-14-11-33-53.png

 

On the music side this week…

I have finally got around to listening fully to the new Matt Berry album “Music for Insomniacs”. I do love it. Well all of it except around 17.45 on the first track where there seems to be some horrific screaming, If i were falling asleep I would wake with a shot thinking it was coming from outside. No singing a few weird noises There was also a bit male yelling.

I did try part two while I couldn’t sleep. With headphones on at 2am, there are bits on it that could make you feel like your underwater, even drowning for a part, other parts in a submarine. Theres a crying baby and some people talking, the music in between is beautiful . I didn’t fall asleep but I think this was more due to me listening to the piece. That Matt Berry is a talented man!

Gum’s new album is out, Yay! it did not disappoint more psych rock meets shoegazer meets fuzz rock. I suppose like Tame Impala a lot, which makes sense.

Also on the same label is the new album from Shiny Joe Ryan called the Shiny Joe and the cosmic microwave background. Cant be bad with a title like that now can it? It has similarities to the sleepy Jackson (and I love the Sleepy Jackson much much better than Empire of the Sun). More acoustic than the Gum album  and I love the record cover.

shiny_1024x1024

I would expand more but this blog is getting long..

And some Kelis, Her new album Food is so far removed from Milkshake, its more rocky, popsy, soulsy.

I also bought some actual CD’s this week while in sunny Leicester over the weekend . The first Neon Neon album Stainless Steel which I have been meaning to buy for years. Its one of the side projects of the wonderful Gruff Rhys. I’ve added some old and some new!

Speaking of Welsh acts looking forward to seeing the amazing Cate Le Bon play in Ashford this Thursday night!

I also replaced some cassettes, remember them? They are popular again, I don’t know why they were a pain, revolutionary for the time there is no denying , they made music portable and recordable. But now you can buy the systems in Curry’s again, yes I suppose it looks cool but ist it quite novel?

Chewed tapes, re winding with a pencil, fast forwarding and re-winding to find the start of the track. Pain. I should lighten up it’s all a bit of fun isn’t it. It’s not as if I’m anti old tech either as I still buy vinyl (I love the crackle and warmth ), That started because vinyl was cheaper than CD’s in the early 90’s and with my weekend shop jobs/pocket-money it was all I could afford) I sound old…

Digressing or what????

R.E.M Automatic for the People and Out of Time were the replaced albums in question. I like Out of Time but I very much dislike Shiny Happy People, annoyingly positive song with a ridiculous video clip.

wpid-20140621_170114.jpg

And while in the forest this week I have been reading Yeah yeah yeah, an incredibly through and well-informed history of pop. I’m up to Rock n Roll so not too far into it but it’s full of interesting bits such as Shake Rattle and Rolls lyrics were changed to make them more tame and less sexual for a white American music. They did keep one line which was “I’m like a one-eyed cat peepin’ in a seafood store”.

I’ll leave you with that.

 

 

2 thoughts on “The consequences of being a bad cutter..and new sounds.

  1. Lilian says:

    The quilt is beautiful – thank you again! Sorry it caused you so many problems – I would have been tearing my hair out, too! I must say you would never know you’d had so much trouble with it as it now looks perfect. I’ve shown it to various people who have all been very impressed as well! I used to have the cassettes of Out of Time and Automatic for the People* as well – now also replaced by CDs! I think I still have the cassettes, although I’m not sure where they are now.

    *I wrote a blog post about this if you want to read it: http://bookmouse.wordpress.com/2010/11/20/automatic-for-the-people/ 🙂

    Like

Leave a Reply

