It’s a post about nothing.

Can you tell I’ve been watching a lot of Seinfeld this week? A whole ton of it.

It’s been quiet on the Kentish front. I’ve been so wrapt up in Rocekette’s first day at school that everything else has had to move around it. (a bit like orbiting).

wpid-20140908_084244.jpg

It was taken for a shoe competition, don’t worry it wasnt based on photographic skills.

I have been making but everything is for gifts at the moment and I can’t reveal any of it at this time so as soon as recipients get them I will put them up.  This is probably what it will be like now until Christmas..that and trying to actually quilt the 4 unfinished quilts sitting in the corner.

Actually what I can show is what I finished yesterday that took no time at all to complete. It’s a cloud pillow for Rockette. I’ve had that Incy Wincy spider fabric for well over a year with no idea what to do with it. The pattern you can find in the Liberty Sewing book. It took about an hour to make they are tiny though, which is why its near baby Tigger to show you the scale. (My photocopier was refusing to make the pattern bigger)

wpid-20140911_145847.jpg

Oh and you can find the tutorial here at the Liberty website (How Lucky!) http://www.liberty.co.uk/blog/17747/make-your-own-cloud-cushion/

The EPP continues as I started doing them one way and then realised that was not what I had set out to do so now it’s going to be a bit different in the corners (yay for the imperfections!) They taking so long to put each one together (am always forgetting this).But I’m pleased with them so far I’m just undecided on the assembly.

wpid-20140911_145127.jpgwpid-20140911_145154.jpg

Off both usual blog subjects I did learn how to make chutney this week, which was something I was always afraid of, but now I realise it’s too easy. So we made Nigella Lawson’s Beetroot and Ginger recipe so easy. I just have to wait out the next 2 months to see how it turned out. Guess what people are getting for the seasonal holidays??? I make Rocky Road every year but I’m getting a bit bored with that. (stop talking about Xmas).

Whilst I was not at home for the cooking and baking day I enjoyed the luxury of working in a larger kitchen, one where 3 people can fit in happily.. When I asked for a sieve I got something that looks like it came from Antiques Roadshow. That was hard work, the sieve that time forgot.

wpid-20140906_151802.jpgwpid-20140906_151814.jpg

In the end I chucked the flour straight in , which goes against ALL of my baking common sense. Still the Beetroot Brownies turned out brilliant.

You can find the recipe at the link below or from the River  Cottage Everyday book. But eat them fast, the ones I made on Saturday already started moulding today (Thursday) and had to sadly be chucked.

http://www.ocado.com/webshop/recipe/chocolate-and-beetroot-brownies/3685

IN MUSIC NEWS…..

My good heavens pretty exciting week for music , this does not included a free U2 album.

Karen O- Crush Songs

Firstly the amazing Karen O from the Yeah, Yeah Yeahs, has gone it alone and delivered Crush Songs. I’ve been waiting for ages for this and if you’re hoping for a slick well produced record then I think you will disappointed.
Its raw and sounds like it was recorded in a toilet with a mic hooked up to a tape deck and that is what I love about it. The songs are about heartbreak and the recording technique I think adds to the sentiment.
They are all short and sweet, understated, tender  and a beautiful album to be sad too. I wish I had this in my early 20s.

Beck -Morning Phase

I’ve come back to Beck today. I always forget how much I love his stuff. Morning Phase has been out for a while and its lived in my house ignored( criminal) so on it went today in its full glory. This is full of overtures. I love a string section and there is so much overlay in this. Wave is magnificent strings and atmospheric, can’t go wrong. There are so many good tracks on this I was tempted to include a link for the whole thing. The track Morning sounds quite like the start of Golden Age or Guess I’m Doing fine which is fine as he is consistent . Heart is a Drum sounds quite laid back the whole album has something of a late afternoon at the beach country feel to it…with strings.It’s also a good album to listen to while on a long walk on a sunny autumnal morning

imgres

 Ryan Adams- Ryan Adams

Firstly can I say this album cover scares me slightly. He looks like an escaped convict, or a bit like Syd Barrett .

I always leave long listening breaks between Ryan Adams, but this man is prolific (20 odd albums so far including Whiskey town) this is good as it offers value for money but he has a large back catalogue I’m so far behind that I’ve had to by-pass the last few and go headlong into this one.

This is his second album this year as the first album he offered was considered “too depressing” and shelved. So now we have this one which on the sad scale comes up about mid-range, It’s good I have been enjoying it but I can’t help thinking some of it sounds like lots of contemporary male artists from the 80’s. There are tones on Don Henley, Brian Adams, Tom Petty even a touch of  (well you catch my drift). The 80’s is in maybe it’s just natural progression for Adams. It doesn’t vary wildly different from his other recordings. I do like the single Gimmie Something good and Stay With Me, but these are the tracks that also don their hat the most to that radio rock sound.  I love Whisky Town and this aint that, but I’ll be content with most things this man put’s forward.

I will try to have happier albums in the next blog!

4 thoughts on “It’s a post about nothing.

  1. Lesley says:

    I hope Ruth isn’t eating mouldy brownies! I give them to her on Monday but I think it was Wednesday before she took them home. Jacquie took the beetroot cake home on Monday and bought the cake container back the next day – it was all eaten that evening she told me!

    Like

Leave a Reply

