Hens night to end all hens nights (no not really)

I have for the first time been bestowed with the honor (or horror if you like) of being asked to be a maid of honor. As well as other such duties this also includes arranging a Hens night. Generally as a rule in my 20’s I avoided all such things like you would a contagious disease. But as I have gotten older I have had to go to such events and I have also arranged one or two of them. Even when I wasn’t in the bridal party for either of them, they were more work do’s.( The make your own pizza at pizza express was great fun I highly recommend that if your stuck for an idea.)

What I’m finding difficult this time around is that the beautiful bride is the absolute opposite to me, she’s a girly girl. She loves Bridget Jones diary chick flick stuff, girls slumber parties,having face masks and so on. This is fine and all good, someone has to like all of this stuff, just not me.  But this is what has been asked of me , to arrange a chick flick slumber party without the sleepover. It shouldn’t be too hard really this kind of stuff writes itself so to speak doesn’t it?

wpid-20150116_110906_richtonehdr.jpg

The food side of the plan is a breeze for me as one of my life’s great pleasures, it’s all pizza and brownies and cute little biscuits ,I am in my element there. But party games and participation..oh now I need help. The poor bride has seen my face and said please don’t stress I will sort out games (which according to every website going is a big NO, it supposed all be a surprise).

The problem is I like to arrange fun parties, great decorations, great food and music. I normally try to go to town within the restrictions of my budget. But I’m out of my comfort zone of knowledge and I worry about everyone being entertained, the last thing I want to hear is someone go “well that was boring”. I have this whole dread that it’s going to be like parties I arranged for people as a teen. I need to provided for the masses not the quirksters.

But Instead of researching ideas on pintrest in the end I spent most of the evening on viber with my sister discussing if I had to have one (Hens, I never have had one for the record) what would I do. The original idea started off as Drinks (copious amounts with cocktails) baked good (or any sort savory and sweet) and then a screening of either Coming to America, Police Academy 4, Spaceballs or Xanadu. What would be even better was to rent out the local small cinema and do a triple feature for example Breakfast Club/ Napoleon Dynamite/ 16 Candles for example. You get the picture.

But then I thought what could be fun (and boring for most other people aside from my sister,I and probably my male friends) would be the same formula as above but change the films to 6 hours of bad music videos. This is how my sister and I spent our youth from 15 – 25 watching late night tv sometimes till 5am if it was a particularly good night watching Rage in Australia and drinking and eating (well drinking when we were over 18 of course). The sad part was that we turned into a pseudo Beavis and Butthead when we watched these.

With that in mind, what would make it better would be to make it of night (and I cringe to use this term) Glamping in my small backyard. It would be great to have a massive projector and speakers and some sort of outdoor screening set up with tents that you could roll into afterwards. (Now I’m getting ideas, stop me now…I’m not even getting married anytime soon).

 

After this brainstorm we spent the next few hours frantically searching You Tube sending each other bad videos from the 90’s most of these being Australian. Of the one’s we found most amusing is the one I’m going to share mainly because of the ridiculous dancing that is involved.

Whats with the cage, the random jumping ? Someone needs to tell the drummer his missing a drum kit.

I think it’s sad and funny in a way that I’ve not come very far in all of these years and think that this would be a fitting way to spend my last night living with my maiden name. In fact why does this need to even be a hen’s do thing? I could just do this anyway, I don’t need a conventional excuse.

:: Outdoor cinema ::  (image found on http://www.kikareichert.com.br)

 

And I’m sure the “Keep calm and wear big pants” Hens do will go fine. I like a challenge and I’ve got a few ideas.

Leave a Reply

