Betty Boop just doin’ the do.

wpid-20150322_154616.jpg

Sometimes I have projects that almost finish me off and I swear that I’m never touching my sewing machine again.

No matter how much I plan these things out it,  as a rule I always end up having a manic rush in the end. Its up till 2 am the night before, then  back up 7 am; and when I’m supposed to be at the birthday lunch and I’m still in my pyjama’s doing the bias binding.

This was the Brick wall pattern quilt which was designed by Lynne Goldsworthy of Lily’s quilts and was a feature in Issue 3 of Quilt Now magazine.

http://www.quiltnow.co.uk/item/420-qn3-onsale

The fabric was picked not by me but by the recipient, for it was her birthday after all (not that she was aware there was a reason behind my quizzing at Plush Addicts open day at the time) and her choice of fabric being the Betty Boop range by Camelot  and some racy Alexander Henry.

For me the fabric was way to chaotic. After looking at all the patterns around I decided on the Brick Wall one as it wouldn’t distort the feature fabric too much.  The print is so large, it’s difficult to do anything more intricate without losing the detail.
Now thinking of it I suppose I could have done some smaller circles appliqued on a white background fabric bit like bubbles in the air say. I Always get ideas much too late.

wpid-20150322_154435.jpg

Everything was going so well, all the squares were cut exact and everything was matching up. But I ran out of fabric (I forgot to buy an extra 5 FQ when I bought the bundle). Then when it came to piecing the lot together things began to unravel. I don’t know what happened but one panic attack later ,I spent all Friday & Saturday at my dining table . Bad Planning…I just underestimated how long it would take .

Then various other things started occurring such as

wpid-20150316_225335_1.jpg

I measured everything with precision, so I’m going to blame my measuring tape (maybe I used  the one that I had accidentally sliced off the top inch of) ;But all of my ends were 5 cm too short. I had to add extra stuff on everywhere!

Also this happened

wpid-20150319_112059.jpg

What in the F@$ck?!! How did that even happen??!! So that was annoying.

Also my machine needle decided to break, or fall out,  or the thread kept coming out, or just decide not to sew.

In the end I also tried and yet again failed to get mitered corners on my binding…I have read lots of books on technique and watched tutorials,  and I STILL cant do it!!! My BFF just finished her first quilt – with immaculate borders…I just do not have that ability. Mid (bias binding) meltdown my little Rockette did come up to me and say “you shouldn’t try to be like our friends mummy, you should be like yourself!” Well being myself is squared crappy corners.

There’s no picture of that, so I’ll just put another one in.

wpid-20150322_154430.jpg

I still have 4 rows of 66.5 cm long strips and I’ve no idea where they were supposed to go and a random 77.5 cm one too.

I used a bamboo wadding, which felt nice but got everywhere. Like one of those beardy shrubs.

wpid-20150322_154520.jpg

The backing was a mixture of beautiful expensive Alexander Henry and cheap and functional IKEA fabric. I love IKEA for backing fabric.

wpid-20150322_154501.jpg

But it worked out in the end, and the pain was worth it for my amazing mother in law who very much deserved it. So all’s well that ends well as the saying goes..

And now to something else

I’ve gone on a slight non-practical fabric binge.

wpid-20150324_073637.jpg

Why do I buy fabric that I lust for and not actually need? Because there’s normally 10- 20% off .

I finally bought some more Cotton and Steel and the pony Kokka stuff I’ve been hankering for 2 years. But the find was the Cotton and Steel Coral arrows. I’ve been looking for the same print in navy which appears to have sold out in the UK everywhere. (OK everywhere bar one place, which are charging quite a bit for it. On tight arse principles I not going to buy it at that price).

None of these fat quarters are practical for the girls dress making that I’m now looking towards for my next project, so I really didn’t need them…….But I wanted them….

What about the play list this week?

I have been listening to the debut album by fellow Melburnians Pearls. Part shoegazer ,part electronica (a bit like Goldfrapp) and part Jack Ladder (who sounds like Nick Cave.) . I have again judged this album by its cover and I’m happy I did. I’m really enjoying it.

Until next time you are free to go!

2 thoughts on “Betty Boop just doin’ the do.

Leave a Reply

