Magic Mushroom’s

That title may misleading!

Right I’ve already written this entry and it didn’t automatically save. Now I’m a bit upset and I have to remember everything I wrote. It won’t be as good probably, it never is the second time around. I’ll endeavour.

Back to magic mushrooms, It’s getting closer to Rockette’s Alice in Wonderland birthday party and I’m starting to trial run some baking before the big day. Today’s choice was Mushroom cookies from my favourite baking book Sparkle Bakes by Heather Baird.

I did have my suspicions about this recipe . It wants half a cup of flour and a cup and a half of corn flour, yes corn flour! I’ve only used corn flour for gravies. Does it go into custard too?

It all started wrong, I blame the heat and the fact that there was still a bird trapped in the chimney brest (more on that later). But to start with Instead of creaming the butter and sugar together first,  I chucked the egg straight into the sugar and mixed. By the time I realised I had two options, either chuck it out and start again or just go on and see what happens. I went for the later. hmm

So before they went into the oven they looked like this

oh, how realistic!

oh, how realistic!

But they came out like this

what in the world....

what in the world….

That is my recycle bin and not a new kind of serving platter.

They look more like frisbees than mushrooms! The oven was too hot (the oven being troublesome again) and the bake time said 25 minutes,  now I’m not really a biscuit baking consultant   (on eating them,  yes) . I have baked a few batches though and my instinct told me 25 minutes is a bit too long.  Should have checked them at 15.

So while I was waiting for the bird remover man (not his real job) to show up I thought forget this ,I’m going to make them again.

By now  didn’t have enough cornflour left, so I put in what was left  (1 cup) and used flour for the rest. I don’t know what was wrong with me because I did the same bloody mistake again! Egg and sugar together. Lucky I took the egg out and chucked out the sugar and started again (idiot).

I also turned down the oven temperature, let the batter to sit in the fridge for 10 minutes and only baked it for 15 minutes.

I really ned to take the course how to use your camera phone like a competent person ASAP.

I really ned to take the course how to use your camera phone like a competent person ASAP.

Better but still flat.

wpid-20150716_152716.jpg

They tasted nice, but they are really crumbly. And I still can taste a lot of the corn flour.

Next time I’m going to try adding more butter and swapping the corn flour for plain flour . I’ll also bake them in a cupcake/ muffin tin to see if they would hold their shape better. I know a few bakers read this lil blog, any advice?

If you want to try it for yourself you can find the recipe here. http://www.sprinklebakes.com/2010/04/very-curious-party.html

btw, the way to make the stem is to get a soft drink/ water bottle, dip it coca powder and press into the ball of dough. Just in case you were wondering.

IN BIRD NEWS

Like I said in yesterday’s post, something had fallen down the chimney and was sitting at the bottom with nowhere for it to go.

By the time help came I was concerned that whatever was in there was dead because I only heard it once again in the morning. I had a longer dramatic story but it’s 11.19 pm , I’ve been to work and I can’t write it out in the same magical way.

While I hid behind the door, the vent was removed and it was confirmed that something did lurk in there. A MASSIVE wood-pigeon. I very much dislike the wood pigeon, not as much as chickens but more than eagles.

The bird appeared to be pleased with where he was , as he was reluctant  leave. When he was dragged out I could hear his dirty claws over the floor boards and I was praying that there wasn’t poo all over the place.

When I finally did go in I saw the poor bird a bit confused sitting on my front door step. Before I could say oh poor thing  the bird removal help had shooed it out of the door with a gentle kick. And off it went thankfully uninjured. I didn’t want to deal with that.

And amazingly left no “presents”for me on the floor, thankyou pigeon it was the least you could do.

Leave a Reply

