The long and winding quilt

I’ve been quiet on the quilting front for ages. I’m in the middle of 3 with my mind on at least another 2 I want to make. But I finally finished one! Thanks to a moment of Marie Kondo inspired tidying frenzy. I couldn’t stand seeing this half-finished quilt hanging around anymore.

wpid-20150918_124518.png

I started this in 2013, it was my second quilt I picked the Rosewater from Sarah Fielke’s Hand quilted with love. It looked like an easy one for beginners and I had bought lots of fabric for Rockette.

wpid-20150918_123053.jpg

I pieced the top all together easy enough, but if I can remember I had problems understanding the measurements (what’s new), but once I was off it came together easily enough for a beginner. I then got distracted and started experimenting with sample blocks from the Fat Quarterly Shape Workshop for Quilters book. So whilst learning different quilting techniques I amassed a few different sized blocks. So I pieced it all together to make the back.

wpid-20150918_123414.jpg

wpid-20150918_123433.jpg

I put it together and then I stopped. I kept meaning to quilt it but other things got in the way, gifts, learning to make clothes, work, other quilts but probably the biggest reason is that I hate quilting , the process of shoving that whole quilt under my small machine is just something I don’t like dealing with. I get stressed etc.

So when I finally had enough of it cluttering my space I manically putting it together. There were a few problems which I had forgotten about such as ..

wpid-20150912_081419.jpg

How the frigg did that happen???I did loose my princess but I used her in the quilt label in the end.

I had plans for this, I wanted to free motion flowers and vines into this. Two years ago I bought a book on free motion and I downloaded a course on Craftsy. Come 2015, I’m still crap at free motion and I don’t think I’ve even watched my Craftsy course.. I started with a few different ideas, half which I left all over the quilt. I really had no idea what to do with it. I hate quilting, did I mention that?

Problems?, Look at my crappy lines which were a rookie mistake. I spent ages on un-picking all sorts of wonky lines and dodgy hearts. Sewing the hearts were as decorative as I got and it wasnt easy as I did it with a normal sewing foot (free motion was too messy and my walking foot is making all kinds of weird sounds).

wpid-20150918_123319.jpg

wpid-20150918_123704.jpg

But I sewed the hearts first which any quilter will tell you is a massive mistake. Work from the middle out when quilting, not here there and everywhere. Rookie mistake and caused puckering everywhere. So much so one square so so bad that I had to cover the bunching by appliquéing a bit of old t-shirt over the top.

wpid-20150918_123226.jpg

I’m not overly happy with it,  I made so many mistakes I’m not sure what was going on. I think I was in a rush and knowing I should have really been working on another quilt was my undoing.

I finally made my own binding (for the first time on this scale), I made way too much. I also realised I need to buy a bias binding maker.

wpid-20150912_123702.jpg

Anyway so now it’s not stashed in various corners of my house. I’m just wondering how long it would take for Rockette to get food all over it.

wpid-20150918_123749.jpg

4 thoughts on “The long and winding quilt

  1. Colesworth says:

    Came out great in the end, it’s so satisfying when they’re done! I’ve had a set of fabrics waiting around to be made into a quilt for about 4 years, finally decided to simplify my plan so that I can make it at a sewaway weekend, now I’m itching to get piecing right away (not looking forward to the actual quilting though!)

    Like

Leave a Reply

