Things that still make me homesick

I’ve lived away from home for so long my homesickness for Melbourne is fewer and further in between, but sometimes It flares up. Normally this will happen In January and its cold, wet and miserable in England and I yearn for the big blue skies and northerly winds that burn your face off.

Other times , when things feel a bit complicated and I want to go back to a time when I was a lot more baggage free. This is when I get homesick.  And then sometimes, like today I was listening to an old album by The Ice Cream Hands while avoiding all other jobs that needed doing, whilst claiming putting together a play list is “an important job”.

Music is a funny thing preying on emotions and bringing up feelings, such as home-sickness, or to pin point a particular time. The thing is, if someone said what does it feel like? I couldn’t answer it. More like if you get the chills or pins and needles, but in a good way.

It reminds me of the time when I was a wide-eyed kid and had to Interview someone for a school project and in some weird way it came about that I could interview Chuck Jenkins who would go on to be in the Ice cream hands, but at the time was in a sadly ignored band called the Mad Turks (this could have had something to do with the shit front cover).

front.jpg

Champagne glasses are a nice touch.

I asked him a few dumb questions because I was only 15 and he answered them in a very dickish way like a snarl wrapped up in a leather jacket. I went away with his record,and a signed poster. The record I didn’t play until I was 20 and loved it & the poster I gave to a second-hand record store. I don’t blame him for being a dick, he was 25 and probably thought he  deserved more than sitting in a 80’s designed office and have to tolerate a kid who hasn’t heard his music. Poor snarling man, I love his work now, no damage done.

All this from one video.

 

I’m not sure how this blog ended up finishing like this today, It was supposed to go another way,  but there you go.

 

 

2 thoughts on “Things that still make me homesick

  1. wakeymakes says:

    Apart from smells that can take you back to a holiday or a meal or sweets from yester year. Music is amazing. It can take you back years. You sing lyrics you didn’t know you knew. It uplifts you and also make you sad for a person, time or place. I can’t imagine being deaf and loosing out on music. Great that you have these memories. Enjoy K xXx

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

