the geranium in bloom

Well hello! Another rehash of the shop blog! As I nurse my painfully badly bruised knee back to health (thanks Canterbury city council for keeping your walk ways clear of packing tape) here is the one of only 2 May makes I managed this month

geranium dress

 

Last week we got our first kids pattern in, yay! I find a lot of children’s dress patterns a bit frumpy, a bit ruffled and a bit over the top. The Geranium by Made By Rae patterns is none of that. it’s basically the Washi dress in kids version. (and without the elastic shirring!) You could have a matching set if you felt inclined. Beauty of this is you can use so many different fabric’s, I love patterns where you can use medium weight quilting cotton- it just opens up the scope of possibility.

washi:geranium

There is 2 different versions in this pattern, it can be made into either a dress or top with three different sleeves versions and three different neckline and the option to make it ruffled or pleated.

bodicedetail

 

I opted for faux capped sleeve. basic neckline and a ruffled skirt , mainly because I’ve done much gathering and never pleated before and the ruffled sleeves looked a bit beyond my easy, quick Saturday morning frame of mind- and pocket version.everything has to have pockets!

pockets detail

I’ve made up the biggest size, which is a 5 but it is on the smaller size (I was making it for my skinny minnie) so may need to add extra to the top bodice if need be. I used a meter and a half of the Cats heads in blue by Wee Wander Gallery, the good thing about this fabric is the heads are small enough that I didn’t stress out too much about pattern matching. I can be lazy with stuff like that.

completedback

The construction is straight forward, As usual I used the Swedish tracing paper to begin with (used on the GBSB didn’t you know) The rest was a breeze, unless you count when I read the pattern wrong and closed the wrong bit of the bodice – (then lost the seam ripper for a full 20 minutes- That made me loose it). Obviously I’m an impatient person and I only ever skim pattern instructions- always resulting in unpicking, (I NEVER learn).

backbodiceSo that was it. A nice make. It went out for a walk around London on Monday, and it didn’t fall apart which is always a bonus – and it has even been in the wash and come out in one piece on the other side- no fraying whatsoever, winning!

geranium

5 thoughts on “the geranium in bloom

Leave a Reply

